Cherry Ames    

The Cherry Ames Nurse Stories

The Cherry Ames Nurse Stories were published by Grosset and Dunlap from 1943 to 1968.  The original author of the Cherry Ames series was Helen Wells, who later decided to quit writing the Cherry Ames and Vicki Barr series in order to pursue other projects.  Julie Campbell Tatham, the original author of the Trixie Belden series, took over writing the Cherry Ames series beginning with volume 9, Cruise Nurse.  The dust jacket had already been designed for Cruise Nurse when Helen Wells backed out, so Wells is credited as the author rather than Tatham.  Later, Julie Tatham gave the writing of both Cherry Ames and Vicki Barr back to Helen Wells.

Volumes 1 through 22 were originally issued in dust jackets and later as picture cover editions.  Early picture cover editions of volumes 1 through 22 have a yellow spine, which was quickly changed to green.  Volumes 1 through 27 were issued in picture cover editions with green spines.  Four titles were issued in paperback by Grosset and Dunlap in 1972, and three of those four titles were once again issued in paperback by Grosset and Dunlap in 1978.

Titles in the Cherry Ames Series:

  1. Student Nurse, 1943
  2. Senior Nurse, 1944
  3. Army Nurse, 1944
  4. Chief Nurse, 1944
  5. Flight Nurse, 1945
  6. Veterans' Nurse, 1946
  7. Private Duty Nurse, 1946
  8. Visiting Nurse, 1947
  9. Cruise Nurse, 1948
10. At Spencer, 1949
11. Night Supervisor, 1950
12. Mountaineer Nurse, 1951
13. Clinic Nurse, 1952
14. Dude Ranch Nurse, 1953
15. Rest Home Nurse, 1954
16. Country Doctor's Nurse, 1955
17. Boarding School Nurse, 1955
18. Department Store Nurse, 1956
19. Camp Nurse, 1957
20. At Hilton Hospital, 1959
21. Island Nurse, 1960
22. Rural Nurse, 1961
23. Staff Nurse, 1962
24. Companion Nurse, 1964
25. Jungle Nurse, 1965
26. Mystery in the Doctor's Office, 1966
27. Ski Nurse Mystery, 1968

Cover Art Gallery

Library Editions

APC Library Editions

Cherry Ames Girls Annuals

Back to Main Page