The Cupples and Leon Company

The Cupples and Leon Publishing Company was run by partners Victor W. Cupples and Arthur T. Leon.  Cupples and Leon published nice-looking books for low prices.  The catalog of the company consisted largely of reprints of books that were originally published by other companies, with the exception being the majority of the company's juvenile series books.  Along with Grosset and Dunlap and A. L. Burt, Cupples and Leon was a publisher heavily used by the Stratemeyer Syndicate for its many original series.  In addition to the Stratemeyer books, Cupples and Leon also published many of the works of prolific series author Mildred Wirt Benson as well as a variety of books by other authors. 

South from Hudson Bay
Adventure and Mystery Stories for Boys

This eight volume series features thrilling stories of adventure and mystery by E. C. Brill, J. A. Lath, James Schermerhorn, Jr., and Clay Cotter.

Dormitory Mystery
Mystery Stories for Girls

This ten volume series contains individual titles written by Mildred A. Wirt, Pemberton Ginther, Izola L. Forrester, Frances Y. Young, Alice Anson, and Anna Andrews Barris.

For your convenience, here is an incomplete list of some of the other series that were published by Cupples and Leon.
Adventure Stories for Boys by John Gabriel Rowe
The Barton Books for Girls by May Hollis Barton
The Baseball Joe Series by Lester Chadwick
The Betty Gordon Series by Alice B. Emerson
Billie Bradley Series by Janet D. Wheeler
The Bob Dexter Series by Willard F. Baker
Bomba the Jungle Boy by Roy Rockwood
The Boy Hunters Series by Captain Ralph Bonehill
The Boy Ranchers Series by Willard F. Baker
The Boy Scout Explorers Series by Don Palmer
The Boy Scouts Series by Mildred A. Wirt
The Brownie Scouts Series by Mildred A. Wirt
The Buddy Series by Howard R. Garis
Champion Sports Stories by Noel Sainsbury, Jr.
College Sports Series by Lester Chadwick
Curlytops Series by Howard R. Garis
The Dan Carter Cub Scout Series by Mildred A. Wirt
Dan Perry Adventure Stories by Kent Sagendorph
Dave Dashaway Series by Roy Rockwood
The Dot and Dash Series by Mildred A. Wirt
The Flash Evans Series by Frank Bell
Four Little Blossoms by Mabel C. Hawley
Fred Fenton Series by Allen Chapman
The Girl Scout Series by Lilian Garis
The Girl Scouts Series by Mildred A. Wirt
The Great Ace Series by Noel Sainsbury, Jr.
The Great Marvel Series by Roy Rockwood
Jack Ranger Series by Clarence Young
The Jane Allen College Series by Edith Bancroft
Jerry Ford Wonder Stories by Fenworth Moore
The Jewel Series by Ames Thompson
Kay Tracey Mystery Stories by Frances K. Judd
The Linger-Nots Series by Agnes Miller
Mildred A. Wirt Mystery Stories
The Motor Boys Series by Clarence Young
The Motor Girls Series by Margaret Penrose
Northwest Stories by LeRoy W. Snell
The Penny Parker Mystery Stories by Mildred A. Wirt
The Patsy Carroll Series by Grace Gordon
The Peggy Lee Series by Anna Andrews
The Radio Girls Series by Margaret Penrose
The Ruby and Ruthy Series by Minnie E. Paull
The Ruth Fielding Series by Alice B. Emerson
Saddle Boys Series by Captain James Carson
Slim Tyler Air Stories by Richard H. Stone
Sorak Jungle Series by Harvey D. Richards
Tom Fairfield Series by Allen Chapman
Top Notch Detective Stories by William Hall
Trailer Stories for Girls Series by Mildred A. Wirt
Webster Series by Frank V. Webster
Back to Main Page